Turtle Creek Assets – Aarons | Legit | Complaints | Collections

Turtle Creek Assets is a Texas corporation.  According to court documents, Aaron’s is a specialty retailer who “markets its goods and services primarily to sub-prime customers by offering high-interest financing or payment options.  However, those payment plans often result in consumer default.”

Aaron’s sells its delinquent consumer paper to Turtle Creek Assets at a fraction of its face value.  After Turtle Creek Assets purchases consumer paper from Aaron’s, Turtle Creek Assets seeks to enforce the consumer paper itself or repackage the consumer paper by region and sell it.  As of November 2015, Turtle Creek Assets had purchased over $835 Million in consumer paper from Aaron’s.

What is Turtle Creek Assets?

According to court documents, Turtle Creek Assets is “a privately-owned Dallas-based company in the business of purchasing large amounts of delinquent consumer paper from banks, credit card companies, and consumer finance companies.  As part of its business model, Turtle Creek enters into contracts with large portfolio debt-sellers, re-packages the purchased consumer paper by state or region, and then either seeks to enforce the consumer paper itself, or sells the re-packaged consumer paper to downstream buyers by region for a margin.  Turtle Creek has bought and sold several billions-of-dollars of paper through years.”

Court documents further reveal, “In early 2010, Turtle Creek approached Aaron’s about purchasing its consumer paper that it had charged-off as uncollectible.  After months of negotiations, Turtle Creek agreed to purchase a large bulk file of Aaron’s consumer paper.  Once Turtle Creek purchased a large bulk file of Aaron’s consumer paper, it re-packaged it by region and sold it to downstream buyers across the country for a margin.  Over the course of the next two years, Turtle Creek continued to buy Aaron’s consumer paper and sell it to downstream buyers.”  Additionally, the court file revels, from June 15, 2012 to February 15, 2013, “Aaron’s agreed to sell approximately $11-13 Million of its Accounts to Turtle Creek…in exchange for Turtle Creek paying Aaron’s 1.50% of the Accounts’ face value.”

As of April 2019, Turtle Creeks’ website contains the following disclosures: “Please note that this communication is from a debt collector and this is an attempt to collect a debt.  Any information obtained will be used for that purpose” and “At www.forwardproperties.net, you can find the same important information as on your customer letter, such as the original creditor, seller, merchant, account balance, account offers, and more.”

Turtle Creek Assets Threatening Letter

In the Spring of 2019, Turtle Creek Assets started sending letters to hundreds, if not thousands, of consumers regarding debts owed to Aaron’s.

  • The letters pertain to consumer debt incurred for personal, family or household purposes, and not for business purposes.
  • The letters do not contain the amount of the debt.
  • The letters do not contain the disclosure that unless the consumer, within thirty days after receipt of the notice, disputes the validity of the debt, or any portion thereof, the debt will be assumed to be valid by the debt collector.
  • The letters do not contain the disclosure that if the consumer notifies the debt collector in writing within the thirty-day period that the debt, or any portion thereof, is disputed, the debt collector will obtain verification of the debt or a copy of a judgment against the consumer and a copy of such verification or judgment will be mailed to the consumer by the debt collector.
  • The letters do not contain the disclosure that, upon the consumer’s written request within the thirty-day period, the debt collector will provide the consumer with the name and address of the original creditor, if different from the current creditor.
  • The letters contain the following deceptive statement: “If you are unable to return the below mentioned merchandise, please call the following number within (forty-eight) 48 hours of the receipt of this letter TO AVOID CRIMINAL CHARGES BEING FILED (refer to backside): 1-888-399-1701.”
  • The letters represent that the consumer could be sentenced to imprisonment.
  • The telephone number 888-399-1701 in the letters is one of Turtle Creeks telephone numbers.

Based on our experience, and our clients’ experiences, when Turtle Creek Assets receives a call placed to 888-399-1701, their representatives answer the call and attempt to collect the alleged debt.  Our clients have told us that Turtle Creek has no interest in the return of any property it may be entitled to repossess.  Also, although the letters state it, our belies is Turtle Creek cannot file criminal charges against Plaintiff.  According to Nolo.com, a “criminal case usually gets started with a police arrest report. The prosecutor then decides what criminal charges to file, if any. Some cases go to a preliminary hearing, where a judge decides if there is enough evidence to proceed. Cases can also start when a grand jury issues a criminal indictment.”  At best, Turtle Creek Assets can request for a district attorney to pursue criminal charges against Plaintiff.

Turtle Creek Assets Complaints

One of our clients received a letter like the one described above.  Fearful of criminal action, our client paid off the debt.  Interestingly, the payment was made to Michael J. Goldstein, Financial Claims Division, Mediation Services, Ltd.  Although it appears Mediation Services accepted the payment, our client received a letter from Doug Engle, Special Services, Turtle Creek Assets, Ltd., Forward Properties International, Inc.  The settlement letter from Turtle Creek Assets said the following: “In consideration of the conclusion of satisfactory arrangements for Daniel, the debts regarding Aarons account numbers C1134-14082 (Sony PS4) and C1134-14078 (55” Samsung TV) both leased on February 14, 2015, which were charged off to Turtle Creek Assets, with outstanding balances of $596.62 and $2743.79, respectively, have been released and discharged as settled in full via a third party agency (Mediation Services) for $1500.00 which was paid in installments between October 12, 2018 and January 31, 2019. Thank you for your business! Should there be any questions, please do not hesitate to email me or call my direct line at 800-337-6587.

Someone recently contacted our office with a similar story about Turtle Creek Assets.  This consumer shared the following with us: “I got a letter i had to sign for with the postman. I opened it up and it says it’s about an account from a long time ago. It gave me the date 12-15-2015. Says i have to return items i do not even have back to the store and it gave me an aarons location that is not even there anymore. Has not been there for years if i’m not mistaken, so if i had the items they claim i have do they really want me to send it back to a store that is not even an Aarons anymore? lol. When i called the number it provided they did ask for money right away. 900 something dollars. Do not remember the exact amount. I gave them a card number that doesn’t even work to get them off my back. I had to set up a payment plan cause they want it right away or had to do 3 payments. The letter did say that if i did not respond to it then i would get arrested and could face up to 2 years in jail. They do get annoying these scammers. This is however, the first time i got something like this from these people. I did have Aarons at one time with my ex-wife a long time ago, but the items they have on their i have no idea what they are. Just want to make sure i really not going to get arrested, but from what I’ve seen online that there are many others who have gotten the same type of letter and phone calls. Oh i do want to add that the address provided doesn’t even have that company’s name there. When i look up Turtle Creek Assets on google it gives me a different address that is not on the letter that was sent to me. Also the letter says TCA Rentals not turtle Creek.”

One of our other clients almost fell victim to Turtle Creek’s aggressive collection tactics and threats of jail time.  Turtle Creek called our client in March of 2019, and threatened our client that she would go to jail if our client didn’t pay $400 on an Aaron’s debt.  Around the same, Turtle Creek called our client’s father-law-and made the same threat to him.  In other words, Turtle Creek told our client’s father-in-law his daughter-in-law would go to jail unless the debt was paid.  Fortunately, our client found Agruss Law Firm.  We stopped the harassment and sued Turtle Creek for violating the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act.

If Turtle Creek Assets sent you a letter, called you, and harassed you over a debt, contact us to learn about your rights.  We have won over 5000 consumer rights cases and we can help you too.

Ratings for AgrussConsumerLaw.com

Complaints - Turtle Creek Assets – Aarons | Legit | Complaints | Collections

  1. Johari

    I received a certified letter from Turtle Creek Assets threatening to sue me if Aarons merchandise was not returned in 48 hours. I called and the lady started yelling on the phone.

  2. Martha

    I receive a Threatening letter from Turtle Creek Assets. It says that in order to prevent to get arrested I need to pay off a debt which I don’t have with Aaron’s!

  3. Amanda

    I received the same threatening letter as well..from a debt back in 2015. Can they really file criminal charges?

  4. Jessica

    Turtle creek sent me a letter I had to sign for at the post office giving me 48 hours to contact them or a warrant for my arrest would be issued. I contacted them explained the item was part of a roll ove that left me disabled I would pay by money order 40 a month even though I couldn’t afford it and the said no by credit card onle witch I don’t carry a bank card!

    1. Mike Agruss

      Hi Jessica, I know the exact letter you received from Turtle Creek Assets. Before you make any payments, let’s discuss your rights under the law. Even if you did rent the property from Aaron’s, and therefore, owe the debt, you still have rights under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. I’ll call you so we can discuss those rights on the phone. Thanks, Mike.

  5. Shelley majors

    I received a threatening, fake certified letter from turtle creek for Aaron’s for an item I no longer own.

    1. Mike Agruss

      Hi Shelley, will you please fax or e-mail the letter to me? My fax is 312-253-4451. My e-mail is michael@agrusslawfirm.com Have you spoken with anyone at Turtle Creek Assets? If you have, please write down notes from the conversation. If you haven’t spoken with anyone at Turtle Creek, please call my office first to learn about your rights under the law. My telephone number is 312-224-4695. Thanks, Mike.

  6. Deon

    Late last week I received a certified letter from the post office but I wasn’t home to sign for it. Today I went to the post office and opened the letter & sat in the parking lot for about a hour in shock. I was told through a letter that I needed to return items from Aaron’s that I received in 2016 within 5 days. I basically needed to get with them within 48 hours or face criminal prosecution and jail time. There was lots of legal verbage like Texas penal code 31.04/Title 7. Much of the threat was printed in red ink. What’s most interesting is….When I signed the contract with Aaron’s I lived in Indianapolis Indiana. My wife and I just moved to Dallas Texas about 9 months ago. Looking online I have read articles of Texans being arrested for this particular situation. If you can help me with this I would appreciate it very much.

    1. Mike Agruss

      Hi Deon, We can help you. Please e-mail the letter to me at michael@agrusslawfirm or fax it to me at 312-253-4451. Turtle Creek has been sending consumers letters like this in NC and in GA too. In fact, we just filed class actions against Turtle Creek Assets in NC and in GA. Have you spoken with Turtle Creek Assets too? If do, did they demand payment? Also, do you still have the items from Aaron’s? Let’s discuss all of this on the phone. You have rights under a federal law called the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. You also have rights under a state law called the Texas Debt Collection Act. Thanks, Mike.

Submit Complaint

We’re here 24/7. We will respond to your submission at lightning speed. From the moment you contact us, we start working on your behalf. All of your information will be kept confidential.